Left Navigation

Multilateral Cooperation

The Ministry is interacting with various countries under different multilateral forums like WTO, UN and its Bodies (UNESCO, UNCTAD, UNCITRAL, UNDP, ESCAP/ APCICT etc.), G20, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), BIMSTEC, RCEP, Commonwealth, SAARC, ASEAN, World Bank and Asian Development Bank (ADB) etc. to showcase India's strength in ICT sector, protect its interests and to explore new business opportunities for the Indian IT/ Software and Electronics industry.

World Trade Organisation

  • The World Trade Organisation (WTO) is the global international organisation dealing with the rules of trade between the nations. At its heart are the two WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world's trading nations and ratified by their Parliaments. General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) applies to trade in services and General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) applies to trade in goods.
  • The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology is actively involved in the on-going negotiations in WTO for trade in Information Technology and Services (Computer and Related Services) under GATS and for trade in Electronics Goods through the system of Non Agricultural Market Access (NAMA) under GATT. Ministry is also providing inputs on the E-Commerce issues.
  • Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Department of Commerce is the nodal agency of the Government of India for all matters pertaining to WTO including both the agreements i.e. GATS and GATT.
  • For further details please click at http://commerce.nic.in

Global Alliance for ICT and Development (GAID) of United Nations

  • During 2006 United Nation established Global Alliance for ICT and Development (GAID) to contribute to transforming the spirit and vision of the World Summit on Information Society (WSIS) into action and promoting the use of information and communication technologies (ICT) for the achievement of internationally agreed development goals, including the Millennium Development Goals. The World Summit on Information Society (WSIS) emerged out of the recommendations of United Nations ICT Task Force and met twice during 2003 in Geneva and 2005 in Tunis and developed Geneva Plan of Action for bridging the global digital divide
  • The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology has been actively involved in the United Nation ICT Task Force and the WSIS and is also engaged in the efforts of Global Alliance for ICT and Development (GAID)
  • More information is available at the websites http://www.unicttaskforce.org ,http://www.itu.int/wsis and http://www.un-gaid.org

UNESCAP - Asia Pacific Centre for ICT (APCICT):

  • APCICT is a subsidiary body of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). It came into existence in June 2006 at Incheon, Republic of Korea. The Centre mission is to strengthen the efforts of the member countries of ESCAP to use ICT in their socio-economic development through human and institutional capacity building. To meet this objective, APCICT work is focused on three inter-related pillars. They are; training, research and advisory services. Together they form an integrated approach to ICT human capacity building.
  • The centre is aimed at creating ICT-ready environment through capacity-building trainings and workshops. Its main areas are ICT applications and development; ICT for development policy, process and governance and e-Government applications.
  • India has been member of the Governing Council (GC) of APCICT since its inception and attending the GC meetings. The Ministry has been funding UN APCICT to the tune of US$ 20,000 per annum. Indian participants have been attending the training programs/workshops/etc organized by APCICT.
  • Towards cooperation with APCICT, the Ministry intends to extend its expertise towards development of multi-purpose community e-centers, enhancing Pacific connectivity for improved ICT access, furthering initiatives in HRD and capacity building, etc.
  • More information about the programme is available on website http://www.unapcict.org

G20 and Digital Economy

G20 members include the G8 countries, namely, USA, Japan, Germany, UK, France, Italy, Canada and Russia; and the 11 emerging and developing countries, namely, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, South Africa and Turkey; and the EU. The European Union is represented by the President of the European Council and by the European Central Bank.

G20 members accounted for 90 percent of the World GDP and nearly 80 per cent of World trade in 2011. G20 countries represents two thirds of World Population.

  • Digital Economy: The G20 leaders have recognized that we are living in an age of Internet economy that brings both opportunities and challenges to global growth. In 2016, a Digital Economy Task Force was set up under the Chinese Presidency to collectively leverage digital opportunities, cope with challenges, and promote the Digital Economy to drive inclusive economic growth and development. The Digital Economy refers to economic activity that uses digitized information and knowledge as the key factor of production, modern information networks as the important activity space, and the effective use of information and communication technology (ICT) as an important driver for efficiency-enhancing and economic structural optimization.
  • This Ministry is the nodal agency for DETF to present India’s stance. A Digital Economy Development and Cooperation Initiative was adopted to cooperate in promoting digital connectivity & e-infrastructure, digital skills, digitized manufacturing, Standards, intellectual property rights, Trust & Transparency, Privacy & data protection etc.

Considering the potential growth of G20 members, the subject was through Digitalization Agenda is being further taken up under the German Presidency (2017), Argentine Prsidency (2018), Japanese Presidency (2019), Saudi Arabia Presidency (2020) and Italia Presidency (2021). A Digital Economy Ministerial Declaration has been adopted every year during the Digital Ministers’ meeting since 2017 to stegthen coopeation on various issues of Digital Economy such as digital inclusion, digital skills, digital security, Digital Government, 4th Industry Revolution, MSMEs, Data flows, Measurement of Digital Economy andEmerging Technolgoes including Artificial Inteligence, Smart cities and Blockchain to work towards digital inclusion and social empowerment. Under the Argentine Presidency (2018), India also presented a Non-paper on “National Digital Platforms for Empowerment” which entails India's success story of leveraging the amalgamation of various public digital platforms and demonstrated a case staudy for the other economies to adopt and replicate for social empowerment.

BRICS Working Group

MeitY has been involved in the BRICS Working Group on ICT and High Performamce Computing (HPC) led by Department of Science & Technology and Working Group on ICT Cooperation led by Department of Telecommunications to present country’s position on various ICT issues including digial economy, data for development, public digital platforms etc.